Each edition we will be putting a member of the IST team through their paces and asking them a variety of questions, not all business related to try and attempt to get to know them a little better. So, the first one in the spotlight is our very own metallurgist, some of you may have already had some form of communication with Conor which is great. So Conor…

1.     What is your role within IST?
At the moment, my main role at IST is to field the technical questions that come in from our membership. Behind the scenes, I am doing research into the testing methods used in the spring industry (fatigue, relaxation etc.) to try and develop a better understanding of the methods used for future IST research projects. This is where the fielding technical questions comes in handy as it allows me to understand the problems the industry is encountering and what we can do, from a research point of view, to help.

2.     Where were you born?
Northampton on the 2/12/87. But I have lived in Chesterfield, Enniskillen and, presently, Sheffield.

3.     What does a atypical day look like for you at IST?
Most of my day is spent either looking through standards and research articles developing my research knowledge of springs, focusing mainly on research methodologies. I also spend a good chunk of my time answering questions from our membership. Which due to my lack of knowledge of springs, is taking longer than it hopefully will in the future. P.S. sorry for the delay.

4.     Which University did go to and what made you choose the degree you did?
I attended the University of Sheffield, where I initially did a masters in Aerospace Engineering and after graduating I continued at Sheffield Uni to do a Ph.D. research project in advanced metallic systems. I did aerospace engineering as I ultimately wanted to be an airline pilot. This never materialised and while doing my masters I did my final research project on aerospace materials and grew to enjoy it so much I took on a Ph.D. project in material science after graduating.

5.     What do you like to do outside of work?
Outside work most of my time is spent between playing rugby for my local rugby team (Oaks Power!!!!), trying to organise my wedding and, along with same mates, keeping my local pub in business.

6.     What music is on your iPhone/Android phone?
I’ve been listening to Childish Gambino’s new album a lot recently but usually I’m more into rock/punk such as And So I Watch You From Afar, The Front Bottoms and Against Me.

If you have any questions or queries please don’t hesitate to contact Conor, he can be reached on Conor@ist.org.uk